20130321-111406.jpg

A fine cloudy Thursday morning.

Prosaso Pre-Shave Cream
Van Der Hagen SS
Van Der Hagen Boar Brush
Gillette 7 O’Clock Super Stainless (3)
Gillette Gold Tech
Cold water splash
Pinaud Clubman’s Special Reserve
“Living Blessings Rejuvenation” organic balm (from my local barber)

Practically BBS when it comes down to it! A fine budget shave!

I am again impressed by the performance of the Gillette 7 O’Clock Super Stainless blade, my third day with it. The blade gets the stubble off my neck with less passes then the two other blades I’ve tried; the Derby and Astra. I am happy to report all these blades work for me. I’m itching to buy the Gillette blades in bulk but I have A LOT of blades in my variety pack left to try. I’m excited to try more Gillette blades from the St. Petersburg factory in Russia. I wonder how similar these Gillette blades are.

I tried Young Gun’s advice and went diagonal ATG on the neck on the third pass, and wow it worked! Thanks man! No feeling of aggression whatsoever, and the stubble came off like butter. I went lightly over the neck too, short light strokes, till it felt the blade was gliding over the face without touching the skin, but mowing down stubble in its path. However, I forgot to go diagonal on the right side of my chin and got a weeper while going horizontal ATG. That’s a difficult area too at times. The small weeper was not bleeding by the time touch-ups were done.

I used Blade Buffing Technique and the Gillette slide for touch ups. I stopped when it felt the blade was losing it’s fine sharp edge. Tomorrow I will replace the blade with another from my variety pack.

After the shave I wondered if I tried too many touch-ups with a dulling blade, and was afraid I’d feel a burn later, but so far, no burn or irritation except where the little weeper was.

It was only when I got to work and looked in the mirror when I saw how good a shave I had, feeling cool and comfortable, however a few pin pricks of irritation here and there, but looking smooth and clean. And I LOVE Pinaud’s Clubman’s Special Reserve.

Aces!

Leave a Reply

