20130329-112200.jpg

Friday morning. Good Friday day.

Axe Chilled face wash
Barbasol (Aloe)
Van Der Hagen Boar Brush
Gillette Goal Stainless (2)
Edwin Jagger DE89 (first use)
Witch Hazel
Pinaud Clubman Special Reserve

A TGIF Friday BBS!

I decided to use my new Edwin Jagger razor for the first time today (I waited a month). Wow, what a first class shave! Just slightly more aggressive than my vintage Gillette Ball-End Tech but still forgiving and easy to use. My second day with the Gillette Goal Stainless was another smooth and sharp shave. It was a smooth three passes (only two passes on lip) and touch-up using Blade Buffing technique, which was successful except for two minor weepers on the neck (wasn’t fully hydrated in that area). The bleeding stopped quickly with cold water. My face feels cool and refreshed after the shave, exfoliated in a gentle manner. I am happy to have a slightly more aggressive razor that can get me to BBS more effortlessly.

I once again tried Barbasol and confirmed that yesterday’s success wasn’t a fluke. I just added a little more water with a damp boar brush, and stirred the cream in my stainless steel mug. I applied to my face like I would my own lather. I will bring Barbasol on my trip this weekend, and go back to my Van Der Hagen soap on Monday.

Aces!

Leave a Reply

