20130418-104716.jpg

Thursday morning. Almost there.

Axe Chilled facial wash
Shave Secret
Barbasol Soothing Aloe
Astra Superior Platinum (2)
Edwin Jagger DE89L razor
Witch Hazel
Family Dollar Spice

For a fine DFS!

Today’s shave started with a different set-up. I mashed an Arko stick into a bowl and attempted to lather into my ceramic bowl, found at a thrift store last week. I reviewed You-Tube tutorials on lathering into a bowl. But again, couldn’t get anywhere with the Arko, just a frustrating thin, milk-toast lather that dried as I shaved my first pass. I attempted to make more lather before my second pass. Re-loaded the brush with Arko in the bowl, stirred and stirred, and got a little going, but it didn’t last the second pass. I tried to use less water, I tired to use a tad more, didn’t work.

I took a deep breath, stopped the show, cleaned the bowl and brush, re-hydrated my face, and turned to Barbasol for a wonderful experience on my third pass with touch-up.

I did great with the Van Der Hagen puck weeks ago. I deduce I don’t have the technique with Arko, or the water is too hard. Perhaps my brush doesn’t have what it takes (Van Der Hagen boar). Probably all three. I love the smell of Arko (it’s what drove me to try it again) but I can’t get a lather for the life of me. Rats! I want to use it so bad. Well, tomorrow’s another day right?

Still, I can’t complain with the final result. I fine, comfortable, soothing DFS!

Aces!

Leave a Reply

